Bhairavi

I have heard Khan Saheb many times, but this small clip blows my mind… he is truly the most lyrical sitar player alive today.  I have heard few renditions of Bhairavi that are as deep as this two minute clip here.  I wish there was more of this concert posted on youtube, but this will have to do. I have had the amazingly fortunate opportunity to sit with Khan Saheb on stage a few times now, and I am constantly in awe and appreciation to know him and be in his presence.

More about the raga Bhairavi:

“Raag Bhairavi (Hindi: भैरबी) is a Hindustani Classical heptatonic (Sampurna) Raag of Bhairavi Thaat. Traditionally it is a morning raga. In modern times, at least in Khyal Gayaki, it is usually performed as the concluding (finale) piece in concerts. It is the defining raga of its own Thaat.” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bhairavi_(music))

I read that Bade Ghulam Ali Khan has asserted that Bhairavi originated in the folk tunes of Iran.  I would love to know if anyone else knows more about this.

Leave a Reply

